Microbiology and Immunology awarded with two FoS 2019 Excellence in Service Awards
All award recipients
Mar 4, 2020

Every year, UBC’s Faculty of Science Excellence in Service Awards recognizes the staff, students and faculty whose service contributions have had a significant positive impact in achieving the faculty’s mission.

A maximum of 6 staff, 2 faculty and 2 student awards are honoured each year for their dedication to nurture an exceptional scientific learning and research environment for the people of British Columbia, Canada and the world. For 2019, two of those awards went to members in the Department of Microbiology and Immunology.

Sarah Woodward, a PhD student in the Finlay Lab, received an award for her leadership in promoting excellence in advancing research, diversity and accessibility in science.


Sarah Woodward with the Dean of Science


Sue Palichuk, Operations & Human Resources Manager in the Department of Microbiology and Immunology, was also recognized with a staff award for her exceptional lengths to create a supportive environment and strong sense of community for our faculty, staff and students.

Sue with Dean of Science


On March 4, 2020, Sarah and Sue were formally presented their awards by Meigan Aronson, Dean, Faculty of Science.

Congratulations to our Microbiology and Immunology team! And thank you to Sarah and Sue for their dedicated service to our community.