MBIM students win prestigious awards during spring term!
MBIM Student Awards
Apr 17, 2024

As the acacemic term comes to an end, we are looking back on all there is to celebrate - including these awards and achievements from three students in the Department of Microbiology and Immunology. 


Loujain (holding certificate) with MISA members and MBIM Department Head, Michael Murphy

Loujain Bilal (BSc Student, MISA President 2023-2024) - Faculty of Science Excellence in Service Award

The Faculty of Science Excellence in Service Awards recognize staff, students and faculty whose service contributions have had a significant positive impact in achieving UBC Science's mission. 


A maximum of 6 staff (including one PDF or RA) and 2 faculty awards of $2,000 each, and 2 student awards of $1,000 each will be awarded.


Congratulations to Loujain on being one of the two students receiving an Excellence in Service Award! Visit https://science.ubc.ca/faculty/awards/service for the full list of award recipients.


UBC President and Nicholas Viegas, who is holding a certificate


Nicholas Viegas (BSc Honours Student) – UBC Wesbrook Scholar, Harold B & Nellie Boyes Memorial Scholarship, Harry Logan Memorial Scholarship). 

Nicholas Viegas, a 4th Year Honours student in the Department of Microbiology and Immunology, has been selected as a UBC Wesbrook Scholar ($1000) and as the recipient of two Premier Undergraduate Scholarships – the Harold B & Nellie Boyes Memorial Scholarship ($11,800) and Harry Logan Memorial Scholarship ($2,100).


The Premier Undergraduate Scholarships and Wesbrook Scholar Awards are UBC's most prestigious designations offered to senior students with outstanding academic performance, leadership, and involvement in student and community activities. Only 20 UBC students are named as Wesbrook Scholars each year amongst all students currently in the penultimate or final year of a baccalaureate program or in the M.D., D.M.D. or J.D. Programs. Congratulations Nicholas! 




Abishek Wadhwa (PhD Student) – NanoMedicines Innovation Network (NMIN) Graduate Award 

The NanoMedicines Innovation Network (NMIN) is pleased to announce the 14 recipients of its 2023 Masters- and Doctoral-level Graduate Awards and four recipients of its 2024 Undergraduate Studentships. Recipients hail from three universities in three provinces – including Abishek Wadhwa from the UBC Department of Microbiology and Immunology, a PhD student in the Ken Harder lab. 


The goal of the NMIN Graduate Awards is to enable exceptional students to pursue nanomedicine academic research training with Canadian experts. Doctoral awards provide a stipend of $30,000 a year for up to two years; Master’s awards provide a one-year stipend of up to $17,500.


Congratulations Abishek! To see the other recipients, visit: https://www.nanomedicines.ca/2024/02/26/meet-2023-award-winners/